The Commandant's Daughter: A compelling and heart-wrenching World War 2 historical novel

The Commandant's Daughter: A compelling and heart-wrenching World War 2 historical novel - Catherine Hokin

The Commandant's Daughter: A compelling and heart-wrenching World War 2 historical novel


'What is this place?' She lowers her camera and takes in the frail bodies and desolate faces staring back at her.

'It's hell on earth. Where the desperate abandon their last hope.'

In that moment, she knows that taking pictures is not enough, she has to help these people...

1933, Berlin. Ten-year-old Hanni Foss stands by her father watching the celebrations marking Adolf Hitler as Germany's new leader. As the torchlights fade, she knows her safe and happy childhood is about to change forever. Practically overnight, the father she adores is lost to his ruthless ambition to oversee an infamous concentration camp...

Twelve years later. As the Nazi regime crumbles, Hanni hides from her father on the fringes of Berlin. In stolen moments, she develops the photographs she took to record the brutality of the camp - the empty food bowls and hungry eyes - and vows to get justice for the innocent people she couldn't help as a child.

But on the day she plans to deliver these damning photographs to the Allies, Hanni comes face to face with her father again. Reiner Foss is now working with the British forces, his past safely hidden behind a new identity. He makes it clear that he will go to deadly lengths to protect his secrets, but Hanni knows she can't give up her fight. But what will she have to sacrifice in order to keep the promise she made?

A heartbreaking novel about the incredible courage of ordinary people during the Second World War. Fans of The Alice Network, The Nightingale and The Tattooist of Auschwitz will never forget this powerful story of hope and humanity.

What readers are saying about Catherine Hokin:

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'The best historical fiction book I've read this year! I was awake until the early morning hours finishing it, because I could not put it down!... Heartbreaking.' Goodreads reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'Amazing... I was totally absorbed in the story... 10 stars. One of my best reads this year. I can't begin to say how much I loved this book, I couldn't put it down, absolutely brilliant.' Goodreads reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'If I could give this book more than a five-star rating, I surely would! It is absolutely the best WW2 historical fiction I've read in a long time!... I couldn't bear to put it down.' Goodreads reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'Can I give a rating higher than 5 stars?!... I really loved this book.' Goodreads reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'Have you ever read a book that has torn at your heartstrings so much that you just know it's going to leave a lasting impression for the rest of time?... This book is going on that list!' Goodreads reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'This story just swept me away... I was left speechless... just wow!!... I do recommend a box of tissues... This book will have you turning the pages.' Red Headed Book Lady

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'The more I read of this book, the more I had to read! What a fantastic story this is touching just about every emotion there is.' Goodreads reviewer

Citeste mai mult

61.06Lei

Cel mai mic pret din ultimele 30 de zile: 61.06 lei

Sau 6106 de puncte

!

Fiecare comanda noua reprezinta o investitie pentru viitoarele tale comenzi. Orice comanda plasata de pe un cont de utilizator primeste in schimb un numar de puncte de fidelitate, In conformitate cu regulile de conversiune stabilite. Punctele acumulate sunt incarcate automat in contul tau si pot fi folosite ulterior, pentru plata urmatoarelor comenzi.

Livrare in 3-5 saptamani

Plaseaza rapid comanda

Important icon msg

Completeaza mai jos numarul tau de telefon

Poti comanda acest produs introducand numarul tau de telefon. Vei fi apelat de un operator Libris.ro in cele mai scurt timp pentru prealuarea datelor necesare.

Descrierea produsului


'What is this place?' She lowers her camera and takes in the frail bodies and desolate faces staring back at her.

'It's hell on earth. Where the desperate abandon their last hope.'

In that moment, she knows that taking pictures is not enough, she has to help these people...

1933, Berlin. Ten-year-old Hanni Foss stands by her father watching the celebrations marking Adolf Hitler as Germany's new leader. As the torchlights fade, she knows her safe and happy childhood is about to change forever. Practically overnight, the father she adores is lost to his ruthless ambition to oversee an infamous concentration camp...

Twelve years later. As the Nazi regime crumbles, Hanni hides from her father on the fringes of Berlin. In stolen moments, she develops the photographs she took to record the brutality of the camp - the empty food bowls and hungry eyes - and vows to get justice for the innocent people she couldn't help as a child.

But on the day she plans to deliver these damning photographs to the Allies, Hanni comes face to face with her father again. Reiner Foss is now working with the British forces, his past safely hidden behind a new identity. He makes it clear that he will go to deadly lengths to protect his secrets, but Hanni knows she can't give up her fight. But what will she have to sacrifice in order to keep the promise she made?

A heartbreaking novel about the incredible courage of ordinary people during the Second World War. Fans of The Alice Network, The Nightingale and The Tattooist of Auschwitz will never forget this powerful story of hope and humanity.

What readers are saying about Catherine Hokin:

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'The best historical fiction book I've read this year! I was awake until the early morning hours finishing it, because I could not put it down!... Heartbreaking.' Goodreads reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'Amazing... I was totally absorbed in the story... 10 stars. One of my best reads this year. I can't begin to say how much I loved this book, I couldn't put it down, absolutely brilliant.' Goodreads reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'If I could give this book more than a five-star rating, I surely would! It is absolutely the best WW2 historical fiction I've read in a long time!... I couldn't bear to put it down.' Goodreads reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'Can I give a rating higher than 5 stars?!... I really loved this book.' Goodreads reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'Have you ever read a book that has torn at your heartstrings so much that you just know it's going to leave a lasting impression for the rest of time?... This book is going on that list!' Goodreads reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'This story just swept me away... I was left speechless... just wow!!... I do recommend a box of tissues... This book will have you turning the pages.' Red Headed Book Lady

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'The more I read of this book, the more I had to read! What a fantastic story this is touching just about every emotion there is.' Goodreads reviewer

Citeste mai mult

De acelasi autor

De pe acelasi raft

Parerea ta e inspiratie pentru comunitatea Libris!

Noi suntem despre carti, si la fel este si

Newsletter-ul nostru.

Aboneaza-te la vestile literare si primesti un cupon de -10% pentru viitoarea ta comanda!

*Reducerea aplicata prin cupon nu se cumuleaza, ci se aplica reducerea cea mai mare.

Ma abonez image one
Ma abonez image one