Lilia: a true story of love, courage, and survival in the shadow of war.

Lilia: a true story of love, courage, and survival in the shadow of war. - Linda Ganzini

Lilia: a true story of love, courage, and survival in the shadow of war.


Winner of The 2021 International Book Awards.

A page-turning novel in the tradition of Markus Zusak, The Book Thief, and Anne Frank, The Diary of a Young Girl, Lilia is an emotionally wrenching coming-of-age tale and a compelling family drama. Trapped under Mussolini's reign and Hitler's occupation, this riveting true story is propelled by a brave girl's courage and a family's bond as they struggle to survive the battle between the forces of evil and the power of love.

"The darkest day of my life came when the Nazis took my brother. I felt helpless as the war tore our family apart. His last words to my mother: 'Mama, if I don't go now, they will kill us all.' I saw the pain in my mother's eyes. I felt her heart cry words she could never speak." Lilia Ganzini

Where there is love, hope remains.

Against the backdrop of fascist Italy during World War II and the Holocaust, Lilia sets the stage for the harrowing story of a family whose depth of heart overcomes a war tearing them apart-years marred by unfathomable tragedies, immense loss, upheaval, and countless betrayals.

Lilia resigns herself to a world crushed by misery, abject poverty, and a broken, bitter mother who suffered insurmountable grief. The burden of war, loneliness, and adult responsibilities rob her of a carefree childhood. Witnessing her parent's challenge to stay alive during the Nazi occupation becomes Lilia's greatest sorrow, one she makes the most heroic efforts to conceal. Ultimately, tragic loss and unanswered prayers dim the flame of her belief in the future. Her dreams shrouded beneath irreparable scars. Will a seed of love reignite Lilia's faith leading her towards an unforgettable and inspiring triumph over tragedy? Or will the dark shadow of war plague her destiny forever?

This poignant account will transport you to a lost moment in history that irreversibly changes a quaint Northern Italian village, transforming its people for generations to come. Through the eyes and fearless spirit of a young girl, Lilia's family story comes to life on the page and will remain in your heart for a long time coming.

Read it now.

Citeste mai mult

transport gratuit

144.94Lei

Sau 14494 de puncte

!

Fiecare comanda noua reprezinta o investitie pentru viitoarele tale comenzi. Orice comanda plasata de pe un cont de utilizator primeste in schimb un numar de puncte de fidelitate, In conformitate cu regulile de conversiune stabilite. Punctele acumulate sunt incarcate automat in contul tau si pot fi folosite ulterior, pentru plata urmatoarelor comenzi.

Livrare in 3-5 saptamani

Plaseaza rapid comanda

Important icon msg

Completeaza mai jos numarul tau de telefon

Poti comanda acest produs introducand numarul tau de telefon. Vei fi apelat de un operator Libris.ro in cele mai scurt timp pentru prealuarea datelor necesare.

Descrierea produsului


Winner of The 2021 International Book Awards.

A page-turning novel in the tradition of Markus Zusak, The Book Thief, and Anne Frank, The Diary of a Young Girl, Lilia is an emotionally wrenching coming-of-age tale and a compelling family drama. Trapped under Mussolini's reign and Hitler's occupation, this riveting true story is propelled by a brave girl's courage and a family's bond as they struggle to survive the battle between the forces of evil and the power of love.

"The darkest day of my life came when the Nazis took my brother. I felt helpless as the war tore our family apart. His last words to my mother: 'Mama, if I don't go now, they will kill us all.' I saw the pain in my mother's eyes. I felt her heart cry words she could never speak." Lilia Ganzini

Where there is love, hope remains.

Against the backdrop of fascist Italy during World War II and the Holocaust, Lilia sets the stage for the harrowing story of a family whose depth of heart overcomes a war tearing them apart-years marred by unfathomable tragedies, immense loss, upheaval, and countless betrayals.

Lilia resigns herself to a world crushed by misery, abject poverty, and a broken, bitter mother who suffered insurmountable grief. The burden of war, loneliness, and adult responsibilities rob her of a carefree childhood. Witnessing her parent's challenge to stay alive during the Nazi occupation becomes Lilia's greatest sorrow, one she makes the most heroic efforts to conceal. Ultimately, tragic loss and unanswered prayers dim the flame of her belief in the future. Her dreams shrouded beneath irreparable scars. Will a seed of love reignite Lilia's faith leading her towards an unforgettable and inspiring triumph over tragedy? Or will the dark shadow of war plague her destiny forever?

This poignant account will transport you to a lost moment in history that irreversibly changes a quaint Northern Italian village, transforming its people for generations to come. Through the eyes and fearless spirit of a young girl, Lilia's family story comes to life on the page and will remain in your heart for a long time coming.

Read it now.

Citeste mai mult

De pe acelasi raft

Parerea ta e inspiratie pentru comunitatea Libris!

Noi suntem despre carti, si la fel este si

Newsletter-ul nostru.

Aboneaza-te la vestile literare si primesti un cupon de -10% pentru viitoarea ta comanda!

*Reducerea aplicata prin cupon nu se cumuleaza, ci se aplica reducerea cea mai mare.

Ma abonez image one
Ma abonez image one